San Antonio Half-Marathon

So, I’ve decided to do the unthinkable, for me. I’ve always been active, one who’s gotten up at ridiculous hours to get the workout in for the day, but one thing I’ve always avoided was the marathon or anything close to it. Not because I couldn’t do it, but because honestly, I really had no interest in doing it. (Kind of like skydiving, but that’s another blog.)

The way I see it, we’re all allowed to change our minds, especially as we mature. Well, I’ve set my sights on a half marathon. Some of you may be asking, “Well, why not a marathon?” I’m of the opinion, and this is just my opinion, that the human body isn’t meant to run those long, long distances. I know it’s a popular pastime and goal, and kudos to the millions who amaze me in completing them, but I know me. I know my body and its limitations. You see, I don’t have the greatest knees. And though I’ve been fortunate to not have any long-term issues with them (following a knee surgery in my 20s and rehab), I don’t believe in battering them needlessly. Many would argue that there are ways to train and strengthen the body and muscles around the knees to improve your running, but these puppies are going to be around and holding me up for quite some time. I’m not willing to push myself that far for a goal that I really have no desire to pursue (the 26.2er). Just not my thing.

However, the half marathon … a half marathon would be a pretty big accomplishment for me and one that I truly would love to knock out and off of my “things to do before I die” list. Here’s the catch. I’ve been seeing a physical therapist here in Austin for the last few weeks for a calf injury. I’d been able to run for several months after injuring it the first time, almost a year ago, with no problem. Then suddenly, for no apparent reason, the calf flared up and I was forced to stop running again. Very disappointing. I was getting to that point where I was calling myself a runner (even if it was just to myself). Runners out there, who do it recreationally, not to set PRs or to qualify for the Boston Marathon, but do it for the sheer love of it, and especially those who do it at the snail’s pace that I do, know what I mean. But when sidelined, it really knocked the wind out of my sail. With every Physical Therapy session, I’m hoping that Troy is working his magic and repairing this calf. I’ve told him my goal is to run the half-marathon in the fall (the San Antonio Rock ‘N Roll half-marathon, Nov 5th) and so he’s doing what he can to get me back in my Asics. I have my weekly sessions with him on Friday, and this Friday I get the green light to try running again.

Calf, behave.

3 Comments

  1. Good for you! I have to say I am not surprised, you have always impressed me with your motivation. Injuries suck! I did something to my knee, owwww! Sounds like you are on the road to recovery though. Keep us posted so we can cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

