Half-marathon training plans

My PT, Troy, wanted me to run at least 3X this week, 1 minute run, 1 minute walk for a total of 30 minutes. My first run on Sunday was a bit nerve wracking because I guess part of me was expecting the calf to act up again. The second one was uneventful (which is a good thing) and I’ve just completed my 3rd run this evening. I am happy to report that all so far is going well!! I have my scheduled appt with Troy tomorrow and await my new weekly regimen. Very excited to be building up my time and distances! I know 30 minutes doesn’t sound like much, but for someone whose calf would give out after only .4 of a mile, that’s a huge accomplishment!

I’ve also been researching training plans for half marathons. I’ve found a couple that I think look good with training schedules varying between 9 and 12 weeks. I’m finding however that these plans, though marked for “beginners”, are for folks who have had some distance under their belt for a few weeks, sometimes months. With my injury, I’ve been forced to take a break for at least a couple of months and so feel like I’m back at square one. That’s a hard realization when I’d worked so hard to build up my distances to 5 miles. Big sigh.

But I’m alright! I could dwell on the fact that I’m starting all over again, or be grateful that I can start all over again! I’d rather take the latter course and am super excited about my training! Now it’s just a question of which plan will suit be best given the time I’ve been off and the time I have left to train (as of today, 14 weeks and 3 days for the San Antonio Half Marathon). I just read online that beginners who are not yet up at a 5-mile distance should consider following a 10K plan first, before starting a half-marathon training plan. I have to consider myself a beginner again given the break, and the fact that I currently can’t run a 5 miler. Right? Uggggh. I really want to do this! But I don’t want to injure myself again.

TROY!!!

Leave a Reply

