Back in the saddle

I’m back home after our lovely vacation and thought that 3 days off is time enough to make another attempt at running. If you recall, it wasn’t the calf that was the issue this last time, but the Achilles tendon.

I know the anticipation is killing you so let’s just cut to the chase!!! I’m here to report that the run went very well! I was so excited! I didn’t push it, meaning I kept my run to the approved plan issued by my PT, Troy, that is, 1 minute run, 1 minute walk for a minimum of 30 minutes. He gave me the OK to go ahead and start working up to the initial 3 miles that my training plan is calling for, so I decided to give it a good try and see how far I’d get. Turns out I’d been running almost 2.5 miles as it was in the last 2 weeks, so the extra two laps on the track were no sweat. Because I’d ridden my bike over to the track, I decided that I’d ride another 20 minutes extra before heading home. Riding my bike has never been an issue so I didn’t feel uncomfortable putting in a little more cardio this time. It was a fantastic hour! It was so good to get out there again.

I’m wondering if it had anything to do with the rest, my running outside again (vs a treadmill in Cancun), and a good 15 minute stretch prior to my run. [Excuse me for a moment. My 6-year old is beckoning, asking for her evening “choc” (i.e. warmed up milk with Ovaltine).  The kid has wizened up because my “in a minute” shout is no longer convincing. She’s standing here in front of me, literally saying, “tick, tock, tick, tock”. If she weren’t so damn cute I’d lock her in her room until she was twenty.] Tomorrow is my resistance work, then another run on Tuesday. I think I’ll stick to more of the same and start lengthening the 1-minute run to 1.5 minutes, still keeping it to 3 miles. That’s the plan for now! Looking forward to it already!

Leave a Reply

