Meat and potatoes

I’d mentioned that one of the next recipes I was considering out of my favorite cookbook, At Home with Magnolia, was Ms. Torrey’s meatloaf. Check! I made the meatloaf and included a side of buttermilk mashed potatoes from my favorite TV celebrity chef, Food Network’s Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa (love, love, love her!).

Now, I’m a vegetarian, and so I couldn’t tell you how it tasted. In this case I trusted my family’s taste buds, in particular my 12 year old daughter’s who is a meat and potatoes girl. She ate it like she had just won a meal on Survivor, i.e. ravenously and with gusto. All I heard was, “Mmmm, this is good, mmmm.” And she’s a credible taster, in my opinion. She’d tell me if it was mediocre, especially meatloaf since it’s one of her absolute favorite meals.

My youngest wasn’t a huge fan of it, but that kid’s favorite “meal” is Ovaltine. My middle daughter also said she loved it, and the empty plate was proof. And the husband thought it was sweet. Hmmm. That was an interesting comment since other than the ketchup, which the recipe didn’t ask for a huge quantity of ketchup, no other “sweet” ingredient was added. Don’t know what to make of that one. If anyone else makes the meatloaf out of this cookbook, I’d be curious to hear if you thought it was sweet too.

All in all, I think, another success.

Leave a Reply

