Day #15 training

I am pleased to report that my 3.5 mile run today went extremely well!! Of course with every run, in the back of my mind is “When during this run is that, or the OTHER calf going to flare up?” The thought creeps in, and then just as quickly, I try to rid myself of it. There was Field of Dreams and the famous “If you build it, they will come.” Well, I’m a firm believer in, “If you think it, it will come.” And I believe that to be true in more parts of my life than just my calves. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not one of these new-age thinkers stocking up on copper bracelets and dream catchers, but I do believe that success is as much a part of what you plant in your subconscious, as it is action. Believe in your abilities, in yourself, and that’s half the battle.

Anyway, I put the calf issues out of my head, and I went on to have a fabulous run. Ah, which leads me to another great article that I read in the August 2009 issue of Runners World. It was the one titled “The Big Hurt,” by Ben Cheever (which reminds me I need to reserve Dr. John Sarno’s book at the library, Mindbody Prescription).  This article reinforced yet another theory I’ve been tossing around in my head in that there’s more to our injuries than just the physical, i.e. there’s something else going on in your life that may be causing the back pain, hamstring pulls, or calf strains.

And therein lies yet another blog for you to look forward to my dear readers.

Leave a Reply

