Days #26 – 30 training

Major slacker of late. Not intentionally, in fact I’ve been anxious to get back out to my runs, but I’ve had last week’s injury that I wanted to allow enough time to heal, and then I caught my kids’ colds that slowed me down considerably. If a cold is largely head congestion, I’ll go on my runs, but this one went into my lungs and that aggravates my asthma. Not a good thing when you can’t breathe on a run. Running, breathing. Kinda go hand-in-hand.

So!! I did have my 4.0 mile run on Wednesday which went very well. I had to go back to my 1 minute run/1 minute walk but I had no issues. I’ve come to terms with  my having to walk during this half marathon. It’s disappointing to say the least because in the back of my mind I really wanted to be able to run this thing, but I also don’t want to cause any long-term damage. Seems to me like nerve issues should not be taken lightly. I may be wrong. I may be able to recover in time before Nov 15th, but I’m not holding out a lot of hope. My goal is to finish. For many that wouldn’t be a big deal, but I’ve invested a lot of time getting this far, and working through my calf issues. FOR ME, it is a big deal. It’ll be my first half-marathon and whether I walk it or run it, or walk/run it, I’m super jazzed. I feel obligated TO MYSELF to finish this out.

I’m going to not run tomorrow but instead have my regular long run on Sunday, 6 miles. I’ve got an appt with my allergist tomorrow for him to prescribe a new asthma pump. The only ones I have in my house expired in 2005 and 2006!!! I’m very fortunate to not suffer from asthma often and so the pumps I have go unused for years at a time. Of course that does me zero good when I actually have my asthma because my meds don’t work. Annoying.  This breathing thing can be annoying.

Leave a Reply

