Plodding along

So my training continues and I must say, it’s going pretty well. I think I mentioned that I had an 8-miler two Sundays ago. I then ran 5 miles each on Wednesday and Friday immediately after. I ran another 8 miles this past Sunday and have to say, I think the 8-milers are easier than the 5 milers. Seems to be that I hit my stride at about 5 miles and am able to increase my runs vs. walks after 4 or 5 miles. All encouraging given that my next 4 long runs are 9-9-10-10. Yikes!

On Saturday I woke up and felt great. I’d had my 5-miler the day before. I was futzing around in my kitchen, fixing something at the counter, when, seriously, I was STANDING there, and something went wrong in my right knee. No snap, or twist, nothing that I could immediately peg a finger on, but it ached. It hurt to put any weight on it. What did I do? I laughed. I had to! I mean, here I am running 5 and 8 miles and I hurt my knee STANDING! It’s like when I pulled a muscle in my back sleeping. Or pulled a muscle in my neck sitting at my desk. You HAVE TO LAUGH!

It was a busy Saturday so though I’d have loved to ice it and take the weight off of it, relax, I didn’t have the time. I went on with my day, and by the end of the day It. Was. Fine. I don’t know what to make of it anymore. I ran my 8 miles the next day without a hitch, in fact, better than the week before. I’m just resolved now to not worry about things. I’m doing as much as I can to stay healthy, and anything that goes wrong at this point is through no fault of my own (other than my standing, sleeping or sitting).

I finally booked my hotel for the event. Note to self, book EARLY. You can always cancel your hotel if you have to, a few days before the event, and not lose your money. Didn’t think that one through all the way, and now am going to be staying near the airport and have no clue as to how I’ll be getting to the event. Not worrying about it.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

