Flapjacks

I love pancakes. I have one child that loves them, one that tolerates them, and one that hates them. How does anyone hate pancakes?! Well lucky for me and my flapjack loving child, the hater and Palo Alto had a full day of soccer games and so I got to cook up my favorite breakfast today. (Uusually I like to go to the soccer games, but Cedar has been at high levels in the Austin area and I’m just about ready to pack a few things and live in a plastic bubble if those levels don’t start to drop soon.)

We have a go-to, favorite pancake recipe that I’ve always used, but today I wanted to try something different. Southern Living (January 2010) had a recipe for Pam-Cakes with Buttered Honey Syrup. (We opted out of the Buttered Honey Syrup and went straight for the Pam-Cakes, for no other reason that we like our Maple syrup.)

Well, wasn’t all too impressed. I thought they were too airy, bland, and way too buttery. I asked the two little ones for their opinion, and sure enough, they said they were “OK,  but we like the other ones.”

So, here is our recipe for the “other ones.” Our favorite pancake recipe. Enjoy!

Buttermilk Pancakes (Cooking Light, January 2005)

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking sodea
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup low-fat buttermilk (if you don’t have buttermilk, put 1 tablespoon of vinegar in a measuring cup and fill the rest of it up to the 1 cup line with milk. You’ll have to let this sit for about 5 minutes to let it do its thickening, spoiled milk look thing.)
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten

Combine the buttermilk, oil and egg whisking them until mixed and pour that into your dry ingredients, stirring until smooth.

PS – I made these for my friend Alisa once and being the sweet friend that she is she didn’t complain about the taste when I mistakenly substituted the baking powder for the salt. She just ate them like a good friend would. Not me! I would have been like, “Girl! There’s something wrong with this recipe! I’d toss that one if I were you!” But that’s just me. 🙂

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

