New half marathon training

Half marathon / Image rights - fitnessmagazine.com

My favorite time to visit the mailbox is at the end of the month when my new magazines arrive. We have subscriptions to several great ones, sometimes making it difficult to find time to get through all of them in a single month, but my top 3 favorites I seem to get through TOO quickly.

Most recently I’ve loved my Fitness Magazine. The irony is that when I subscribed to it I was thinking I was subscribing to Women’s Health Magazine so you can imagine my surprise when I got my first issue. A few months later, I have to admit that I am so happy I screwed up! It’s a great magazine! Chock full of great exercises, recipes, useful information, and tips.

In this past month’s issue (February 2010) they have a great write-up on half marathon training schedules for beginners and advanced runners. I don’t consider myself an advanced runner and so I’m focusing here on the beginner schedule. What I love about  it is that it includes quite a bit of walking. A lot of other half marathon training plans I’ve come across online build up your running over the course of your week, but running — when your body is not really used to doing it so regularly, nor when you’ve trained your muscles and joints to withstand all that impact — can do more harm than good, moreso to your ego than to your body. One injury or set-back and it’s super easy to quit.

What I love about this training schedule is that you really can keep up. But you have to be alright with walking during your training. Some people aren’t. And for them, that’s fine. As for me, my opinion … don’t worry about walking part of your first half marathon! I’m always so proud of people who just get in there and experience the half. It’s incredible! I should know because I walked quite a bit of my first half, and trust me, I wasn’t the only one! And in the end, it didn’t matter because I was just as proud of my accomplishment as that first person who crossed the finish line.

So, my new favorite half marathon training can be found at this Fitness Magazine link. I do want to change it up just a bit. And this is purely based on my own personal preference for not running two days in a row. That being said, I will look to spread out my runs so there’s no back-to-back running on Saturday and Sunday. It worked out well for my first half and I’d like to try it again.

I’ve said it before, JOIN ME! I have yet to pick my next one this year. Or tell me which one you’re signed up to do and I’LL JOIN YOU!

2 Comments

  1. CONGRATS on your half marathon adventures! I’m so glad you love running… it’s a great sport for so many reasons. Particularly glad that you approach your training logically and listen to your body. You are setting such a great example for your girls! 🙂 As for your next half… how about joining me on May 2 at the Avenue of the Giants in Eureka, CA??? Here’s one of my new favorite quotes, compliments of Kristin Armstrong: “Do not underestimate the intimacy of running, and the people with whom you share your miles.”

Leave a Reply

