Peanut butter protein shake

I had a great workout yesterday. I did one of my walk/run days in my new half marathon training plan and when I got home, I was famished! After a great workout like that, I wanted to eat something healthy.

While on the treadmill, I was reading a magazine which had this shake recipe that I had to try out. There were no real measurements so I pretty much eyeballed everything and added my own touches.

  • 1 tbs peanut butter
  • 1 scoop whey protein powder, vanilla
  • 1 tbs ground flaxseed
  • 3/4 cup to 1 cup of 2% milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • Ice

Throw them all in a blender and blend!! Yum!!

Some substitutions to consider:

  • Almond butter for peanut butter
  • Chocolate whey protein powder for vanilla (for something a little more chocolate-y)
  • Non-fat milk for 2% milk for a “skinnier” shake

I’m ready for another one!

PS – great giveaway over at Endurance Isn’t Only Physical blog … Bridgedale running socks! Contest runs until 11:59PM 3/9.

1 Comment

  1. you are on your way!!!! and that shake sounds pretty delicious!!!

    p.s. andy samberg is a comedian on a popular show in the u.s. called saturday night live. i should have explained that in the post, but i am kind of lazy. ahahhaha. if you want to see some of his best handiwork, do a youtube (or hulu for the uncensored version) search for a song parody he and justin timberlake did called “dick in a box”. it is a scream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

