Best Blueberry Muffins

Best Blueberry Muffins / Image rights - thebittenword.typepad.com

I’m always leery of anything that self-proclaims being the “best”. However, when searching for a tasty blueberry muffin recipe, of course I Googled “best blueberry muffins”.  At least then I felt like I had a good starting place. Someone had tried the recipe out and determined, in their opinion, that it was worthy of a “best” title.

I looked at a few of them and I went with this one only because of the source, Cook’s Illustrated. I love Cook’s. I used to subscribe to them a couple of years ago but due to some budget constraints, it had to be cut from my “non-essential” items. (Boo) Well, these were without question worthy of the title.

They were moist, and full of blueberry flavor! My oldest is a huge blueberry muffin fan and was quick to take on the task of judging whether or not these met her tastebud requirements. She loved them! I pretty much followed the recipe as is, with one exception. I didn’t do 1 1/8 cups of sugar. I’ve mentioned it before … I have a problem with dropping so much sugar in a recipe. I think I cut it back by 1/2 a cup. I opted for the sugar/lemon topping, and even that one I didn’t sprinkle too much over the tops of the muffins just to not overdo the sweetness factor. I’d love to try the Almond or Streusel topping. Next time!! And there will most certainly be a next time!

I’m not allowed to re-produce the recipe here so I’m pointing you to the site where I found it, and who has gotten permission to re-post it. (Thanks The Bitten Word!)

The BEST Blueberry Muffins – recipe, Cook’s Illustrated May/June 2009

Leave a Reply

