Poop in my laundry

We always knew kids were gross little creatures with the mud, dirt, sweat, and nose things they’re constantly wiping, picking or God forbid eating (I just gagged).

This is the last article I needed to read online, “Dirty Laundry? Germs and Bacteria in Washing Machines“.

Here are some highlights:

  • “If you wash a load of just underwear, there will be about 100 million E. coli in the wash water, and they can be transmitted to the next load of laundry.”
  • “There’s about a tenth of a gram of poop in the average pair of underwear.”
  • If you’re using cold water, Gerba (Charles Gerba, a professor of microbiology at the University of Arizona, has done extensive research on the germs that fester in our washing machines )recommends washing your hands after you handle wet clothes, especially if you’re washing children’s clothes.
  • “Children’s clothes, especially their undergarments, tend to carry a lot more things.”

Now I’m totally freaked out about my laundry.

So what do I do?! Do I wash underwear by itself? With Chlorox 2? In hot water? Let it dry outside in the sun? Do I wear plastic gloves when handling my kids undergarments? Do I get rid of my kids?

I know, I’ll just buy another washer/dryer. One that will only be used to wash underwear. I’m brilliant.

Final note, in case you missed it, there’s a tenth of a gram of poop in your average pair of underwear.

I just gagged again.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

