Some poop with that shopping cart?

I’m going to put it out there for all of the internet to know.

I am a germophobe. Yes, when I go to the grocery store, I’m one of the few who will wipe down the shopping cart with the hand sanitizer and wipes they provide. I’m a proud germophobe. Why? Read on…

From the ParentDish web site,

A new study found E. coli on 50 percent of shopping cart handles in four states, showing it pays to be a germophobe at the supermarket.

Researchers at the University of Arizona are warning parents to wipe down their shopping carts after they swabbed the handles of 85 carts and 75 percent turned out to have a marker for fecal bacteria, MSNBC reports.

Taking a closer look, they found 50 percent of those handles had Escherichia coli (E. coli) along with a host of other types of bacteria.

Ewwww, I feel ill.

As if that’s not enough …

I dragged my kids to church this past Sunday and made a pitstop in the bathroom. Not so unusual, I mean we know every bathroom in every store or restaurant we ever visit here in Austin. We weren’t alone. There was someone else in the bathroom with us when we entered; she was already in her stall. 

Anyone with kids knows that bathroom visits are not quick. Anyone with 2 children under the age of 10 knows that bathroom visits are painfully slow.  By the time we’d washed up and were just about ready to head out our friend in the stall finished up. She popped out of her stall and … exited. My 2nd daughter and I exchanged one of those looks that only germophobes do (“Ewwww, did you see what I just saw?!) and grimaced in disgust.

Did I mention that she was one of the church greeters? The ones at the front door with the smiles on their face, distributing the church bulletin, and shaking your hand welcoming you in to our Sunday celebration?  

Uh huh.

That’s why I pack hand sanitizer, people. And wipes.

Leave a Reply

