Let’s start out with a black bean burger

What better way to start out 2014 than with a quick post on black bean burgers.

I’ve been a pescatarian for the last 6 years. A should say a strict pescatarian for the last 5 but have dipped my toe into the fowl world in the last year (I blame it on my allowing myself to “cheat” with turkey on Thanksgiving Day 2012… it was all downhill after that). I still don’t eat a lot of chicken or turkey, but find that I crave it after not having it for a few days. So, I don’t deprive myself of it because I believe the body craves what it needs.

Anyway, I’ve had two delicious black bean burgers of late. One that my husband made out of the Isa Chandra Moskowitz vegan cookbook called the Island Black Bean Burger (though we went with the alternate route just using black beans, no black-eyed peas, and mild chili powder and cumin instead of the Jamaican curry powder). Yum!! Even the kiddoes loved it!! A much healthier alternative to beef and pretty easy to throw together.

IDIcoverSmall2

The second is the Spicy Baja burger from Smashburger here in Austin, TX.

Delicious on both counts!! Seriously, you forget that you ever ate beef. Give ’em a try and let me know what you think! Or, if you have a black bean burger recipe that you love, please share!

HAPPY 2014! Make it a healthy and deliciously happy year!

Leave a Reply

