“Mother of God, what’s with the gut?”


Sex and the City movie / Image rights - Insider.com

How could it be that I’ve watched “Sex and the CIty,” the movie, oh 5 or 6 times and still laugh and cry at the same places? How does it never get old? Is it a female thing? Because I know Palo Alto would never watch it more than the one time he’s watched it. It’s just not in his genes, nor does he have the repeat attention span.

I’ve seen the movie enough where I can appreciate the beautiful camera work, of one of the most beautiful cities in the world photographed in all its glory; I can appreciate the incredible clothes, purses and SHOES; and laugh at the witty banter among these incredibly bright and powerful friends. So why, why, WHY, after so many times of watching this movie do I still follow it as if it’s the first time, laugh and cry when I know exactly what’s going to happen?

I think, and this is just this blogger’s humble opinion, it’s because it’s an honest depiction of our female vulnerabilities, emotions, pain and the events that can take us to the brink of despair, yet balanced with the fact that we’re never alone. That many of us, if we’re so very lucky, we have girlfriends or sisters in our lives that are there, to love us, laugh with us, cry with us, who’ve got our backs.

I have 3 daughters and for them, I wish friends like Samantha, Carrie, Charlotte, and Miranda. Friends that will believe in them when they’ve forgotten how to do it on their own; that will dry their tears when their hearts are broken; and that will walk with them during the good and the bad.

Another reason I love this movie – it reminds me of how fortunate I am to have the many women in my life. I have some incredible men in my life, yes, but girlfriends, they just know me in a different way. I miss my girlfriends. But yet despite the distance that divides us and has strewn us far and wide across the nation, I know they’ve got my back.

3 Comments

Leave a comment